Chasing my Tail

Pretty Sure I’m Never Going to Catch Up

I feel as if I’ve been behind this whole semester, but I get the feeling that all of my fellow students feel the same way. There’s always something to be done in the Super Semester, and when you’re done with that there will be something else. It’s like a vicious cycle that you can never see the end of until, WHAM, you’re done. I can’t wait for the day the end smacks me right in the face. Now, I don’t mean to sound like a negative nancy, because I have learned a lot through Super Semester and I’m sure it will make a difference in my career. It’s just very overwhelming sometimes, especially for someone who is married and also works pretty much full-time.

Okay, that’s enough ranting for one day. Let’s look at what I’ve done since the last time I was on here.

Whoa, that was COLD

Last week I went and shot a package on the ribbon cutting ceremony of the last phase of Highway 364/Page Avenue Extension in O’Fallon. What I wasn’t prepared for were the cold temperatures and blustery winds. The winds were gusting up to about 30mph that day, which makes a camera on a tripod easy to blow over. Now, this didn’t happen to me thank goodness, but it did happen to a local news channel who happened to be there as well.

IMG_0454

The best part about my package I thought was my stand-up, it wasn’t super creative, but I did it standing in the middle of the unopened highway. I also did a wrap around in studio because let’s be real, if you have a package, why would you not want to do a wrap around?

Here, take a look for yourself.

Drones?

I also had a VO/SOT that aired this week about First Rule Film, out of Brentwood, and their fleet of aerial drones they use. They brought the drones to Lindenwood to show the students how they work and answer any questions they may have. The footage for this turned out really cool, I mean it’s hard to mess up footage about drones. I wanted to do a package on this but decided it better to stick with a VO/SOT. The coolest part was that they wired the video into a TV so that we could see the live footage being shot. Lindenwood looks pretty awesome from 200 feet high, not to mention, I had no idea there was a Lindenwood sign on top of the Evans Commons.

I also had another chance to hold down the anchor desk this week. I really enjoy anchoring, probably because my nerves hardly ever get the best of me, and I just genuinely like to look good.

IMG_0469

The Last Little Bit

We’re coming into the last month of the Super Semester and I hope to pull as much useful information out as I can. I still have quite a few assignments left to finish so my head will be down the entire time. I look forward to finishing up and taking away the great experiences I had and further build on them. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll be sitting at a real anchors desk.

Leave a Reply

