So Much To Do, So Little Time

This is Stressful

The past couple of weeks have put me in two of the most stressful positions I’ve had this year. One of those being getting a package shot, wrote, and edited in a matter of about 5 hours. The other was producing a newscast with content nobody else had taken a stab at yet.

Your Time Starts Now

So I recently returned from a 10 day trip to Canada where I was filming for a TV show on Sportsman channel, but before I left, I had one evening to put a package together to air while I was gone. The package was over the Lindenwood Shotgun Sports team moving practice facilities from Bridgeton to Eureka.

The team had practice at 4pm the night before I left for Canada, so I ran down to Eureka and shot everything I needed, including a look live tease and two stand-ups. I rushed back to campus and began writing the script, which I had to save as a google doc for my GA so she could write it in iNews the next week.

IMG_0230

I finally got the script done and went downstairs to record my voice. When I finished recording my voice it was 9:17pm, the editing lab closes at 10pm. Needless to say, I was in a little bit of a rush to edit. I threw everything together, including a couple of still images, and transcoded the package about 10 minutes until closing time, I was pretty impressed by myself.

I still had to go home and pack everything for Canada that night too, but that’s a story for another time.

You Want to do What?

Monday was my second round of producing and I had a few new tricks up my sleeve, providing they all worked out.

The first thing I wanted to do was a 3-shot of the anchor desk and plasma set for the weather toss. This didn’t turn out too bad, other than the script the girls wrote was a little cheesy. The second thing was using monitors instead of graphics for the over-the-shoulder shots.

IMG_0302

The over-the-shoulder shots turned out awesome, I really think they add a “cool” element to the newscast.

The one thing that really got under my skin on Monday was the lack of focus the talent seemed to have. I felt like since this was everyone’s second time through, they just kind of went through the motions. Honestly, the live show was embarrassing to me because I was in charge. It really sucked that my newscast was the first one to be totally re-shot, but I guess that’s the chance you take when trying new things.

One other thing that I know you’re going to run into while producing, is people not getting video sent until 5 minutes before we’re live. I realize there are times when you can’t control that, such as breaking news, but when you come in at the beginning of the day with a package or VOSOT, you should be done well before 3pm.

Well, I’m done with my producer rant and all-in-all the newscast wasn’t a complete fail. Now we know what needs to be done to execute a flawless newscast next time.

Leave a Reply

