Each Day Brings a New Challenge

Yearning is Learning

Well, the past couple of weeks have been a lot of fun and I have learned a great deal more than when the semester started. We’ve faced some problems during the production of the news but we’ve all stuck together and got through everything as a team. One major thing that I have learned over the past couple weeks is that if you want to succeed and get better you have to come in and push yourself. You have to make yourself learn things and not wait on them to come to you.

Package This

My first package went live on LUTV News last week, and I have to say I was pretty satisfied for my first one. The package was about Lindenwood’s first home football game and I had a lot of fun shooting it. The way everything was lit up in the stadium at night made the footage really pop. The writing part of it was a little bit easier this time around, it only took me about 45 minutes to write the whole script. I’m picky about the quality of my video, but even more about my audio. Audio makes video, so basically if your audio is bad, your video follows suit. I try to make sure all of my audio throughout the entire package is relatively at the same level. Take a look(and listen) for yourself.

Sports Here! Get Your Sports Here! 

Monday I jumped into the sports anchor role for the first time, and let’s just say, I might be the next Steve Savard. Being the sports anchor requires a little more work because you have to write two non-sports stories plus all of your sports stories for the day. Well, lucky for me, I didn’t have to write two other stories because I had a VOSOT to do, and when I finished, all the stories were already written. I recently realized that my sportscast was quite depressing. Most of the stories were about teams losing, and in a tough way. LU football losing on the road, the Rams losing a 21 point lead to the Cowboys, and the Cardinals getting banged up by the Reds. All in all it was a fun experience and I could see myself getting into the sports broadcast world.

Now We Up in the Big Leagues!

It took a few weeks for the rotation to get to me, but Wednesday it finally did. It was my turn to sit at the big desk. It was my time to be an anchorman. Sorry, had to make that somewhat dramatic out of respect for my main man Ron Burgandy. Anyways, I anchored the news, and it went well.

IMG_0087

Brianna Miller and myself sat side-by-side and went into battle delivering the news to Lindenwood University. I never really got nervous, although my sweaty palms said different, and thoroughly enjoyed being an anchor. You may not think so, but I actually learned more about writing from this experience. When you read damn near every story that’s on the rundown, you figure out what sounds good and what doesn’t. There are a few things that will be in the back of my mind next week, like the number 2. Please, for all it’s worth, don’t write this as to, that just confuses your brain and then you sound like an idiot who can’t read.

We also had Dennise Ramirez do a wrap around from the news room with a double box on the screen.

IMG_0088

This is really cool because it takes our broadcast to that next professional level. Plus, it spices things up a bit so the stories aren’t so boring.

I’m looking forward to the rest of the semester and learning more and more each week. Not only from my professors, but everyone around me in the super semester.

Leave a Reply

